The “real” world

Ever since I was at the age of 17 (which is a year before graduating high school), I have been warned that the “real” world is a vicious place where everyone fights with everyone in order to compete for the best piece of meat.

I have been warned that in the real world, no one will help you when you are done, instead you should count your lucky stars if they don’t kick you when you are down and rob you of everything you have.

I have been told that in the real world, everyone wears a pretty face pretending to be your friend while secretly plotting to shame you  and pull you down.

I have been a student up to now, pursuing my Bachelors and Masters. And now that I am doing my internship, I realized that perhaps I have always been protected in this safe cocoon all this time and therefore unaware of the dangers of the “real” world.

But this three months doing my internship in Silicon Laboratories have been a wonderful experience. Although I sometimes moan about how boring it is here, I am starting to enjoy the work I am doing. I am now working on analyzing the miscorrelation of the test results between an old generation tester with the new generation one. It was challenging as I have long forgotten most I learned during my Bachelor studies. Programming, Analog device theory, signal processing, using Excel to do calculations (using complex mathematical functions I never thought possible to do with Excel). 

So far I have been met with nothing but kindness. The people there actually want me (and their colleagues, of course) to excel, to perform well, to succeed, to improve, to be better together. When you ask them a question, they did not blow me off with an excuse like they are busy or etc. Not only did they answer my question, they even made sure I understood everything before leaving. For questions that require further experimenting or debugging or analysis on my part, they would come back after awhile to check on how I am doing and if I need any help. For example the application design engineer spent a whole afternoon and a whole morning to go through the codes and explain the memory storage system (in which time I learned more that morning than I ever did in my 3 years of programming courses in school), and the analog design engineer who spent hours explaining and deriving the calculations and theory of the FFT of an ADC and the relationship of it with the SNR and SNDR. Other than all the other people such as my manager and the director of the PTE department who are constantly providing guidance and giving suggestions and all. 

And I noticed this does not only happen because I am the “new girl”, it happens to everyone, and everyone is doing it to everyone! It’s incredible. Ok, maybe I am exaggerating, I haven’t met all of the people in the company. And I must say there is a particular team that are not too friendly. At least to me they are rather distant. But for the rest, they are very nice people.

So tell me, am I still in the cocoon? Please tell me that this is the real world. 

Or have I only been very very lucky to have stepped into such a working environment? But I cannot stay! How unfortunate isn’t it? I cannot stay partly because I can’t also. The director said there’s no head count for hiring a new permanent employee in the department. 😦 It’s a shame. And although I don’t fancy staying in Singapore, and I don’t exactly love being in PTE department, I like the working environment here. How many times can one be so lucky? 

Ah well.

Leave a Reply

